Skip to main content
foodservicenerd
Local permits & fees

Jefferson Parish, LA Food Facility Permits & Fees

Restaurants, commercial kitchens, and food trucks.

Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) - Office of Public Health, Retail Food Program (Bureau of Sanitarian Services) · department site →
Fees change often — always confirm the current amount with the department before you budget.

Jefferson Parish food-facility health permits run about $50–$100 annually, depending on size or sales volume. Plan review runs about $100–$200. Confirm the exact amount with Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) - Office of Public Health, Retail Food Program (Bureau of Sanitarian Services) before you budget.

Confirm the authority for your exact address. Some cities run their own health division, and building, planning, fire, sewer/grease and business-license approvals are separate even when Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) - Office of Public Health, Retail Food Program (Bureau of Sanitarian Services) issues the health permit.

The restaurant market in Jefferson Parish

What the local foodservice landscape looks like — useful whether you’re opening here or sizing up the competition.

1,095
food & drink establishments
17,763
industry jobs
$423M
annual payroll
$23,811
avg wage / worker
  • 364 full-service restaurants
  • 418 limited-service & fast food
  • 98 bars & drinking places
  • 114 snack & coffee bars
  • 9 mobile food & trucks

▲ 0.4% change in establishments since 2022 (1,091 → 1,095).

The average foodservice wage here is $2,371 above the Louisiana average ($21,440); Louisiana has about 9,519 food & drink establishments statewide.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns 2023 (NAICS 722, food services & drinking places) — establishments with paid employees. Some small-county payroll figures are withheld by Census for confidentiality.

Last verified: 2026-08-17 — we re-confirmed the serving authority, its contact, and that the fees below match the current published schedule. Fee schedules may carry an earlier effective date (shown per fee); local ordinances & amendments aren’t individually reviewed, so confirm current rules with the authority having jurisdiction.See something out of date? Report an update →

Restaurant / food-facility permit

Retail Food Establishment Permit - Class 7 (state-issued)
  • $100.00 (1st permit)
  • $75.00 (2nd-5th permit)
  • $50.00 (6th or more)
  • statewide LDH schedule (RS 40:31.37)

State-administered; Louisiana retail food permits are issued by LDH (not the parish); Class 7 covers 'Restaurants, Bars, Meat Markets, Seafood Markets, etc.' A separate Jefferson Parish occupational/business license is also required

Plan review — required

  • LDH plan review required for new construction/major renovation
  • a dollar amount is not stated in the LDH retail food fee schedule, confirm with the LDH regional office
  • Secondary guides cite ~$100-$200

Plan-review details & forms →

Reach the department

OfficeJefferson Parish Health Unit, 111 N Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70001
Plan reviewldh.la.gov →

Inspection grading

Routine inspection — no public letter grade

Louisiana Dept. of Health inspects on a risk schedule and cites critical/non-critical violations — no grade or score; reports on the LDH online dashboard.

Food truck / mobile permit

Mobile Food Unit (Mobile Unit) permit (LDH)
  • $100.00 (Mobile Units billed '
  • same as Class 7 fee schedule'
  • )

If a mobile unit is permitted in one parish it does not need an additional-fee permit to operate in another parish, though the local parish/city may require its own permit-to-operate and occupational license

How to apply

Fees/payment and forms are on the department site; application steps vary by concept — see the checklist below.

What it costs in permit fees to open here

The government permit & plan-review fees below total roughly $250–$400 for Jefferson Parish:

  • $50–$100 — food-facility permit
  • $100–$200 — plan review
  • $100 — food-truck permit

That’s the paperwork only. Add buildout, equipment, deposits and licenses with the cost-to-open calculator. Fees change — confirm current amounts with the department.

Look up a restaurant’s inspection score

Check the health-inspection history and violation scores for any food establishment in Jefferson Parish and Louisiana. The Louisiana Department of Health's Eat Safe Louisiana portal provides statewide retail food inspection reports selectable by parish and city.

Louisiana inspection lookup →

How Jefferson Parish’s permit cost compares

At about $50/year, Jefferson Parish’s restaurant health permit is below the Louisiana median ($75) and below the U.S. median ($125) — higher than about 19% of U.S. counties.
Ranked 2nd-lowest of 63 Louisiana counties by permit cost.

Comparison uses the lowest published annual restaurant-permit figure in each county; confirm your exact tier with the department.

Local food-service market

About 1,091 food & drinking establishments serve ~421,777 residents in Jefferson Parish — one per ~387 residents, denser than the Louisiana average (one per ~740).

U.S. Census 2023 population; County Business Patterns 2022 (NAICS 722).

Budget the permit stack

Start with ~$50 annual health permit + $100 plan review.

Plus building, fire, and business-license fees that vary locally — use the cost calculators and the checklist below to budget the full stack.

Grease trap & FOG requirements

Under Louisiana State Plumbing Code (LAC Title 51, Part XIV), food establishments here must control fats, oils & grease (FOG) with a grease interceptor or trap, and typically register with the local sewer/wastewater authority. Restaurants must install an approved grease trap or interceptor under the Louisiana State Plumbing Code, with discharge governed by the local sewer authority's FOG program.

Size the interceptor with our grease-trap sizing calculator, compare units in the grease-trap catalog, and confirm the local FOG permit with Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) - Office of Public Health, Retail Food Program (Bureau of Sanitarian Services) (contact above).

Fire suppression & backflow

Hood fire suppression (NFPA 101 (2015 Life Safety Code)): commercial cooking under a Type I hood needs a wet-chemical suppression system to NFPA 96, permitted and inspected by the local fire marshal. Commercial kitchen hood suppression must meet NFPA 96 and the state-adopted NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, enforced by the Office of State Fire Marshal and local fire officials. See do I need a hood? and the hood CFM calculator.

Backflow prevention: Backflow prevention assemblies (typically an RPZ) require annual testing by a certified tester through the local water utility's cross-connection control program. A certified backflow assembly (often an RPZ) on the water service, tested annually, is standard — confirm with your water utility.

Watch out for

  • State-issued LDH permit PLUS a separate Jefferson Parish occupational license are both required
  • Mobile permits are reciprocal across parishes (no duplicate state fee)
  • Day care/residential facilities with food service: $25 (<15 licensed), $50 (16-50), $75 (51-100), $100 (101+)
  • Fair/festival and special-event/temporary permits are a flat $25 each

Other food-service permits in this jurisdiction

CategoryAnnual feeNotes
bar/tavern$100.00 (1st permit); $75.00 (2nd-5th); $50.00 (6th+)Class 7 covers 'Restaurants, Bars, Meat Markets, Seafood Markets, etc.' Statewide LDH schedule (RS 40:31.37) applied in Jefferson Parish
grocery/market with deliGrocery Stores (Class 1-5, by gross revenue): $75.00 (<$500k); $125.00 ($500k-1M); $250.00 ($1M-2.5M); $400.00 ($2.5M-5M); $500.00 (>$5M); Meat/seafood markets billed under Class 7 ($100.00)Grocery = 60%+ of gross revenue from retail food; non-grocery stores billed under Class 6 (same tiers, then $75 for 2nd-5th and $50 for 6th+)
temporary/special-eventSpecial Event/Temporary Permit flat $25.00; Fair or Festival flat $25.00Fair/festival fee charged once to the event sponsor; each approved stand gets a permit at no additional fee
seasonal$10.00/month, minimum $10.00 (1 mo $10; 2 mo $20; 3 mo $30; +$10 per additional month)LDH Seasonal Permit schedule
pushcart/mobile vending$100.00 (Mobile Units billed same as Class 7)Reciprocal across parishes; local occupational license may still be required
caterer/commissarynot broken out as a separate class on the LDH fee schedule; generally permitted as a restaurant under Class 7 ($100); Confirm classification with LDHLouisiana's schedule does not list a distinct caterer or commissary fee

Equipment your Jefferson Parish plan review will check

Health-department plan review looks for specific, code-compliant fixtures. Compare spec-filtered options, then confirm counts and sizes with your local requirements. See the full list in what equipment a commercial kitchen requires.

Nearby counties

Permit costs and rules change at the county line — compare Jefferson Parish with its neighbors.

How to open: typical permitting sequence

This is a typical sequence — confirm the exact sequence with your authority having jurisdiction.

  1. Confirm whether Jefferson Parish or another local jurisdiction (city/district) handles your exact address.
  2. Confirm zoning and permitted use.
  3. Prepare your menu and scaled plans.
  4. Include an equipment schedule with ANSI/NSF spec sheets.
  5. Submit water-heater and hood documentation.
  6. Pay plan-review fees.
  7. Respond to plan-check corrections.
  8. Obtain Environmental Health plan approval.
  9. Obtain building, plumbing, mechanical and fire approvals.
  10. Schedule rough-plumbing, pre-final and final health inspections.
  11. Pay the operating-permit / application fees.
  12. Receive approval before storing or preparing food.

Official plan-check requirements: plan-check guide →

Frequently asked questions

How much is a food permit in Jefferson Parish?

$100.00 (1st permit); $75.00 (2nd-5th permit); $50.00 (6th or more); statewide LDH schedule (RS 40:31.37) These are annual health-permit fees, usually tiered by seating or size; confirm your exact category with the department.

Is plan review required in Jefferson Parish?

Yes — plan review is required before you build or remodel a food facility. Typical fees: LDH plan review required for new construction/major renovation; a dollar amount is not stated in the LDH retail food fee schedule, confirm with the LDH regional office; Secondary guides cite ~$100-$200

Do I need a commissary for a food truck in Jefferson Parish?

In most cases, yes — most mobile units must operate from an approved commissary; confirm exemptions with the department. If a mobile unit is permitted in one parish it does not need an additional-fee permit to operate in another parish, though the local parish/city may require its own permit-to-operate and occupational license

Who issues food permits in Jefferson Parish?

Food permits here are issued by Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) - Office of Public Health, Retail Food Program (Bureau of Sanitarian Services). See the department site for current details.

Are city building and fire approvals separate?

Yes — building, plumbing, mechanical and fire approvals are always separate from the health permit and are often handled by different offices.
Sources: ldh.la.gov · ldh.la.gov · ldh.la.gov · observed 2026-08-07