Vanderburgh County, IN Food Facility Permits & Fees
Restaurants and food trucks.
Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400. · department site →
Fees change often — always confirm the current amount with the department before you budget.
Vanderburgh County food-facility health permits run about $100–$500 annually, depending on size or sales volume. Confirm the exact amount with Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400. before you budget.
Confirm the authority for your exact address. Some cities run their own health division, and building, planning, fire, sewer/grease and business-license approvals are separate even when Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400. issues the health permit.
The restaurant market in Vanderburgh County
What the local foodservice landscape looks like — useful whether you’re opening here or sizing up the competition.
454
food & drink establishments
9,900
industry jobs
$202M
annual payroll
$20,434
avg wage / worker
147 full-service restaurants
189 limited-service & fast food
34 bars & drinking places
42 snack & coffee bars
▲ 0.2% change in establishments since 2022 (453 → 454).
The average foodservice wage here is $286 above the Indiana average ($20,148); Indiana has about 13,400 food & drink establishments statewide.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns 2023 (NAICS 722, food services & drinking places) — establishments with paid employees. Some small-county payroll figures are withheld by Census for confidentiality.
Last verified: 2026-08-17 — we re-confirmed the serving authority, its contact, and that the fees below match the current published schedule. Fee schedules may carry an earlier effective date (shown per fee); local ordinances & amendments aren’t individually reviewed, so confirm current rules with the authority having jurisdiction.See something out of date? Report an update →
Restaurant / food-facility permit
Food Service Establishment food permit (annual, tiered by number of employees)
Per Ch; 2.41 (rates escalate by year; 2026 shown first, then 2027):
1-10 employees $125.00 (2027 $150.00)
11-25 employees $175.00 (2027 $200.00)
26-50 employees $300.00 (2027 $400.00)
51+ employees $400.00 (2027 $500.00)
(Original 2025 base rates were $100 / $150 / $200 / $250.)
Vanderburgh County codifies a multi-year fee step-up in ordinance Ch; 2.41. 2026 figures shown as current (observed 2026-08-07); confirm against VCHD's current-year application
Plan review — required
Vanderburgh County food permit ordinance (Ch
2.41) does not specify a plan review fee, and VCHD does not publish a separate plan-review fee amount online
Plan review is conducted for new/remodeled establishments per Indiana rule
Fees/payment and forms are on the department site; application steps vary by concept — see the checklist below.
What it costs in permit fees to open here
The government permit & plan-review fees below total roughly $175–$600 for Vanderburgh County:
$100–$500 — food-facility permit
$75–$100 — food-truck permit
That’s the paperwork only. Add buildout, equipment, deposits and licenses with the cost-to-open calculator. Fees change — confirm current amounts with the department.
Look up a restaurant’s inspection score
Check the health-inspection history and violation scores for any food establishment in Vanderburgh County and Indiana. Indiana's state Food Protection portal offers a public inspection search, though many of the 95 local health departments also maintain their own report databases.
At about $100/year, Vanderburgh County’s restaurant health permit is about the Indiana median ($100) and below the U.S. median ($125) — higher than about 45% of U.S. counties.
Ranked 31st-lowest of 63 Indiana counties by permit cost.
Comparison uses the lowest published annual restaurant-permit figure in each county; confirm your exact tier with the department.
Local food-service market
About 453 food & drinking establishments serve ~179,810 residents in Vanderburgh County — one per ~397 residents, denser than the Indiana average (one per ~577).
U.S. Census 2023 population; County Business Patterns 2022 (NAICS 722).
Budget the permit stack
Start with ~$100 annual health permit.
Plus building, fire, and business-license fees that vary locally — use the cost calculators and the checklist below to budget the full stack.
Grease trap & FOG requirements
Under Indiana Plumbing Code (675 IAC 16, based on IPC), food establishments here must control fats, oils & grease (FOG) with a grease interceptor or trap, and typically register with the local sewer/wastewater authority. Grease interceptors are required under the Indiana Plumbing Code, with FOG limits set by the local sewer utility.
Size the interceptor with our grease-trap sizing calculator, compare units in the grease-trap catalog, and confirm the local FOG permit with Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400. (contact above).
Fire suppression & backflow
Hood fire suppression (Indiana Fire Code (675 IAC 22, based on IFC)): commercial cooking under a Type I hood needs a wet-chemical suppression system to NFPA 96, permitted and inspected by the local fire marshal. Commercial kitchen hood suppression follows NFPA 96 as adopted in the Indiana Fire Code and is inspected by the local fire authority. See do I need a hood? and the hood CFM calculator.
Backflow prevention: Restaurants must install a testable backflow preventer (typically an RPZ) that is tested annually and reported to the local water utility. A certified backflow assembly (often an RPZ) on the water service, tested annually, is standard — confirm with your water utility.
Watch out for
Grocery/markets are licensed separately as 'Food Market Establishments' by square footage (2026): under 3,000 sq ft $200.00; 3,000-6,000 $300.00; 6,001-10,000 $400.00; 10,001+ $500.00 (2027 rates $300/$400/$500/$600)
Temporary food service $10.00 per day, maximum $30.00 for three or more days
Vending machines $5.00 per machine
All fees are set by county ordinance (Ch; 2.41) rather than a downloadable fee schedule
Other food-service permits in this jurisdiction
Category
Annual fee
Notes
Grocery / market with deli
Food Market Establishment (annual, by square footage; 2026 / 2027): under 3,000 sq ft $200.00 / $300.00; 3,000-6,000 sq ft $300.00 / $400.00; 6,001-10,000 sq ft $400.00 / $500.00; 10,001+ sq ft $500.00 / $600.00 (2025 base was $100/$150/$200/$250)
Set by Vanderburgh County Code Ch; 2.41
Temporary / seasonal event
$10.00 per day, maximum $30.00 for three or more days
Per Ch; 2.41
Pushcart / mobile vending
Mobile Food Service $100.00 per year ($75.00 if issued after June 30); Vending machines $5.00 per machine
Per Ch; 2.41; Mobile Food Unit Information Packet (Appendices C and D) required before applying
Equipment your Vanderburgh County plan review will check
Health-department plan review looks for specific, code-compliant fixtures. Compare spec-filtered options, then confirm counts and sizes with your local requirements. See the full list in what equipment a commercial kitchen requires.
Per Ch; 2.41 (rates escalate by year; 2026 shown first, then 2027): 1-10 employees $125.00 (2027 $150.00); 11-25 employees $175.00 (2027 $200.00); 26-50 employees $300.00 (2027 $400.00); 51+ employees $400.00 (2027 $500.00); (Original 2025 base rates were $100 / $150 / $200 / $250.) These are annual health-permit fees, usually tiered by seating or size; confirm your exact category with the department.
Is plan review required in Vanderburgh County?
Yes — plan review is required before you build or remodel a food facility. Typical fees: Vanderburgh County food permit ordinance (Ch; 2.41) does not specify a plan review fee, and VCHD does not publish a separate plan-review fee amount online; Plan review is conducted for new/remodeled establishments per Indiana rule
Do I need a commissary for a food truck in Vanderburgh County?
In most cases, yes — most mobile units must operate from an approved commissary; confirm exemptions with the department. Applicants must review the Mobile Food Unit Information Packet and submit Appendices C and D before applying
Who issues food permits in Vanderburgh County?
Food permits here are issued by Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400.. See the department site for current details.
Are city building and fire approvals separate?
Yes — building, plumbing, mechanical and fire approvals are always separate from the health permit and are often handled by different offices.